CHBO Property
NEED HOUSING LIST YOUR PROPERTY
Daily, Weekly, Monthly & Yearly Rentals

Security Deposit Deadlines by State

Below is a table of deadlines for claiming and/or refunding a tenant’s security deposit for all 50 states in the united states. For specific details on your state's procedures for returning security deposits, visit your state's landlord-tenant statutes. Here is a link to the security deposit limits you can collect.



State - Deadline for returning security deposit to tenant

Alabama - no statutory deadline

Alaska - 14 days if the tenant gives proper notice to terminate tenancy; 30 days if the tenant does not give proper notice

Arizona - 14 days

Arkansas - 30 days

California - three weeks

Colorado - one month, unless lease agreement specifies longer period of time (which may be no more than 60 days); 72 hours if a hazardous condition involving gas equipment requires tenant to vacate

Connecticut - 30 days, or within 15 days of receiving tenant's forwarding address, whichever is later

Delaware - 15 days

District of Columbia - 45 days

Florida - 15 to 45 days depending on whether tenant disputes deductions

Georgia - one month

Hawaii - 14 days

Idaho - 21 days, or up to 30 days if landlord and tenant agree

illinois - 30-45 days depending on whether deductions were made

Indiana - 45 days

Iowa - 30 days

Kansas - 30 days

Kentucky - 30-60 days depending on whether tenant disputes deductions

Louisiana - 30 days

Maine - 21 days (tenancy at will) or 30 days (written rental agreement)

Maryland - 30-45 days depending on whether tenant has been evicted or has abandoned the premises

Massachusetts - 30 days

Michigan - 30 days

Minnesota - three weeks after tenant leaves, and landlord receives mailing address; five days if tenant must leave due to building condemnation

Mississippi - 45 days

Missouri - 30 days

Montana - 30 days

Nebraska - 14 days

Nevada - 30 days

New Hampshire - 30 days

New Jersey - 30 days; five days in case of fire, flood, condemnation or evacuation

New Mexico - 30 days

New York - reasonable time

North Carolina - 30 days

North Dakota - 30 days

Ohio - 30 days

Oklahoma - 30 days

Oregon - 30 days

Pennsylvania - 30 days

Rhode Island - 20 days

South Carolina - 30 days

South Dakota - two weeks

Tennessee - no statutory deadline

Texas - 30 days

Utah - 30 days, or within 15 days of receiving tenant's forwarding address, whichever is later

Vermont - 14 days

Virginia - 30 days

Washington - 14 days

West Virginia - no statutory deadline

Wisconsin - no statutory deadline

Wyoming - no statutory deadline
 
The Corporate Housing by Owner website provides the information listed above for the convenience of our viewers and is not liable for any of the deadlines stated above.

Corporate Housing News

Property Spotlight: Two Beautiful Furnished Homes in Oakville, Ontario

Oakville, ON is located in the southern part of the province between Hamilton and Toronto. This city has a population of nearly 200,000 and offers cul read more

Learn about Pet Trends and Fee Experiences in Accordance to CHBO Property Owners

To protect your rental, if considering pets, here are some tips Know replacement costs (Including loss of rent for downtime to repair, delivery and se read more

Motion-Activated Security vs. Continuous Recording: Factors to Consider

A study performed by the University of North Carolina at Charlotte’s Criminal Justice Department shows that a corporate housing security system read more

Learn about Security Deposit Experiences in Accordance to CHBO Property Owners

CHBO always recommend owners opt for the ARDP. This option is a win/win for the owner and the renter. Renters don’t have to tie up large amounts of read more

Top Locations for Work and Play for Young Professionals

One of the most mobile workforces in the United States is made up of Gen Xer’s, who were born between 1960 and 1981. These professionals are looking read more

View more news
Contact us

GET IN TOUCH

*
*
*
*
*
*
*